//
you're reading...
Entertaining, Holidays, Recipes

Turkey day wrap-up

I think it is clear by now how much I love love love Thanksgiving, and I really enjoyed spending a whole day cooking up a feast for my friends here in Dubai with the help of my boyfriend-turned-sous-chef (and expert turkey carver!).  I must say that I am already feeling premature withdrawals from the idea of having to retire my turkey-day related posts until next year (it didn’t help that I changed my header photo from a Thanksgiving-y fall photo to a Christmas-y winter photo this morning)….but before I shelve Thanksgiving completely, here’s one last post for the road.

What was on your table this Thanksgiving?

This was my menu:

Appetizers

  • Baby mozzarella and pesto bites
  • Puff pastry “grilled cheese” bites

Main course

  • Roast turkey brined in salt, brown sugar, citrus and herbs overnight, then glazed with spices and pomegranate molasses (and of course a touch of butter!) before going in the oven [image above] accompanied by pan-dripping red wine gravy and orange-cranberry sauce

Rory aka the carving master hard at work!

Sides

  • Whole wheat bread stuffing with butternut squash, chestnuts, green apple and rosemary
  • Buttermilk mashed potatoes
  • Maple-roasted sweet potatoes with caramelized onions and balsamic vinegar
  • Black pepper and butter glazed carrots
  • Green bean and asparagus salad with red wine vinegar, mustard and shallot dressing
  • Mini Yorkshire puddings (I consider this my feat of the evening! Alton Brown’s recipe is amazing (find it here), because I have never made these before and they came out perfectly just by following his instructions)

My perfect Yorkshire puddings (better known as "popovers" in America) - courtesy of Alton Brown's recipe

Desserts

  • Sweet potato pie
  • Apple crumble
  • Pecan pie, peanut butter pie, apple cake and assorted chocolate truffles contributed by my guests (thank you!!)

    Our "accidental potluck" delicious dessert spread

Beverages

  • Mulled wine (I used Merlot with cloves, cinnamon sticks, whole nutmeg, star anise and a vanilla pod as mulling spices, along with brown sugar to taste and the zest and juice of 2 oranges)

I already cannot wait for Thanksgiving 2012!

In good health,

F

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Turkey day wrap-up

  1. Informative article, totally what I needed.

    Posted by Susan\Marge\Margaret | November 27, 2011, 10:29 PM
  2. Peculiar article, totally what I was looking for.

    Posted by Lindsay | November 28, 2011, 6:29 PM
  3. Informative article, exactly what I needed.

    Posted by Manno | December 1, 2011, 11:39 AM
  4. Very nice article, totally what I needed.

    Posted by Lindsay | December 2, 2011, 12:54 AM

Share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

November 2011
S M T W T F S
    Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
