//
you're reading...
Celebrity chefs, Cookbooks, Holidays, Recipes

Minty fresh

I’m so sorry for my sporadic posting lately my foodie friends… over the last few weeks I have been quite literally all over the place. But I am now back for a while (yes, a week does qualify as “a while” in my warped consultant’s world) and I have the blogging itch. I also have a cooking itch but alas, given that my new project is with a client in a different city and I will be staying in a hotel this week, I think my cooking itch will have to wait until next weekend to be scratched.

On my flight back from London the other day I was flipping through Jamie Oliver’s recipe yearbook and I came across this mouth-watering chocolate-mint layer cake recipe. It felt like such a festive cake to me so I thought I’d share it with those of you searching for some holiday dessert inspiration.

Chocolate cake:

  • 100g room-temp butter
  • 200g white sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 4 heaped tbsp cocoa powder
  • 300g white flour
  • 250ml buttermilk
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar

Mint icing:

  • 100g butter
  • 400g confectioner’s sugar
  • 200g softened cream cheese
  • 2 1/2 tbsp milk
  • 1/4- 1/2 tsp mint extract
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp green food coloring (optional)
  • 8 mint chocolate thins or other minty chocolate like After Eight, crush

Preheat oven to 180C (~360 F). Grease two round 9-inch pans with butter and sprinkle with flower to coat.

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, then add eggs, salt and vanilla extract. In a separate bowl, sift cocoa and flour together, and add half the butter mixture to the dry ingredients. Mix well, then add 125ml of buttermilk. Fold the batter with the remaining butter, then mix in the remaining buttermilk. In a small bowl, mix bicarbonate of soda with vinegar until frothy, and add to cake batter.

Pour batter equally into cake tins and bake for approx 30 minutes. Allow cakes to cool on a cooling rack. When cooled, slice each cake in half horizontally with a sharp knife.

To make the icing, cream the confectioner’s sugar with the butter, and gradually add in the cream cheese followed by the milk, mint extract and food coloring. Layer the cake by spreading a quarter of the icing as a sprinkling of crushed mint thins between each layer of chocolate sponge. Chill in the fridge for 30mins. Serves 16.

Let me know how it turns out!!

In good health,

F

* Recipe and photo credits: Jamie Oliver Magazine’s Recipe Yearbook 2011.

Discussion

One thought on “Minty fresh

  1. Fantastic. I know what you mean about being all over the place, but have rededicated myself to my blog :D. I can’t wait to do more. this cake looks excellent!

    Posted by frugalfeeding | December 11, 2011, 10:41 PM

Share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
