//
you're reading...
Health, Recipes

Craving me some tabbouleh….

Over the last few weeks, I have had an unexplained craving for tabbouleh, so I thought I would share my recipe for it with all of you. Although it is very simple to make, my (not so secret) secret ingredient –sumaq– ensures that this salad is anything but dull. It is not a particularly wintery salad, but I think the beauty of this Middle Eastern classic is that it is quite timeless. And the best part is that tabbouleh is super healthy.One serving of the main ingredient, parsley, is packed with vitamins A and C, as well as some calcium and iron. It is also recognized by nutritionists as a great way to fill up while keeping your calorie intake low (for the full nutritional profile, visit Self Nutrition Data). Growing up in Jordan, we had tabbouleh in our household very regularly, and I have so many fond childhood memories of helping my dear aunt make it. Meemi, this one is for you!

I hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do!

You will need:

  • 2/3 cup fine bulgur wheat
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 4 cups finely chopped parsley (flat-leaf, not curly)
  • 1-2 tomatoes, small dice
  • 1/2 small red onion, small dice
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh mint leaves
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp sumaq powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • Iceberg lettuce cups, for serving

Wash bulgur wheat and drain well. Place in a large bowl and pour in the lemon juice. Allow bulgur to soak for at least 1 hour.

Once bulgur wheat is tender, add parsley, mint, tomatoes and onion to the bowl. Toss with olive oil, then season with sumaq powder and add salt and pepper to taste. Refrigerate salad; the longer it sits, the better as this allows more time for the flavors to blend.

When ready to serve, spoon tabbouleh into lettuce cups and dig in!

Note – I personally prefer my tabbouleh the classic Lebanese way with lots of parsely, but you can certainly play with the proportions of the ingredients in this salad according to your preferences. Some people prefer less parsely while others add more bulgur, tomatoes, or even other ingredients like cucumbers, so feel free to experiment.

In good health,

F

Discussion

One thought on “Craving me some tabbouleh….

  1. Your tabbouleh sounds delicious. I was lucky enough to be given a little bag of sumaq from a Lebanese friend and it is so much better than what I can buy.

    Posted by Karen | December 21, 2011, 6:42 AM

Share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
