//
you're reading...
Recipes

Pumping iron

I woke up this morning craving spinach. Yup, spinach. Call me weird, but I’m dying for some dark green veggies like spinach, kale, bok choy and broccoli. I am mildly anaemic, so I guess these cravings are my body’s way of making sure I get enough iron in my system (I also cannot get enough red meat lately)…and I think I’m in luck, because it is just the right season for dark leafy greens. I was browsing through a few of my food magazine subscriptions last night (which might also explain why food was on my mind first thing this morning) and recipes for these kinds of veggies were everywhere. EVERYWHERE I tell you. Here are 5 scrumptious-looking, iron-rich winter recipes that I might just have to make for myself throughout this week. Spinach will definitely be on my plate tonight!

1. Iron triple threat: red meat, beetroot and sweet potato are all iron-rich foods. Get the recipe from Bon Appétit’s Food Lover’s Cleanse (scroll to day 14, dinner).

2. Spicy parmesan green beans and kale – great side dish. Here’s a recipe from Giada de Laurentiis on Food Network.

3. Broccolini with crispy lemon crumbs – another great side dish. Find Food & Wine Magazine’s recipe here.

4. Warm quinoa, spinach and shiitake mushroom salad – a great lunch option. Get Martha Stewart’s recipe.

5. Sauteed collard greens with garlic – a fresh, healthier take on the traditional creamed spinach side. This is another recipe from Martha Stewart.

In good health,

F

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
