//
you're reading...
Entertaining, Recipes

Ice, ice baby

Well hello, my foodie darlings!

After being away for much too long, I am finally back in action and so excited to bring my blog back to life!! I’m so sorry to have seemingly dropped off the face of this green earth; a few medical procedures and lots of travel left me absolutely no time to set foot in a kitchen, much less to sit down and about any of my culinary adventures. Almost a month ago now, I underwent lasik corrective eye surgery, which forced me to stay away from any kind of screen for over a week (but the results have been amazing and I highly recommend it to anyone who wears glasses and/or contacts). I then embarked on nearly 3 consecutive weeks of travel, which was a lot of fun but ultimately a bit tiring, so I’m glad to be home. I I have missed writing my blog and reading your blogs!

In any case, I am now back and feeling extremely festive. I have been all over the place in the last few weeks so I sort of lost track of what season it is or what time zone I’m in, especially because the weather has been so drastically different in each country I visited. But now that I’m back on terra firma in my hometown of Amman for a while, everywhere I look I can see signs that summer is almost here….and who wouldn’t feel excited about that?!

I will be baking some cupcakes in celebration of summer’s imminent arrival (to me, nothing says “party time!” like some yummy cupcakes), so stay tuned for the results. In the meantime, I could not help but share this amazing icing guide that I came across during my flight home this morning in the May issue ofFood Network Magazine, (which, as I’m sure you know by now, is one of my absolute favorite monthly staples). No, what you are looking at is not a catalog of color swatches for your wall. It is a living, breathing guide to making cake frosting in all colors of the rainbow. This might be the coolest thing I’ve seen in a magazine in a long time All you need is some sugar, butter, eggs and a pack of food coloring in standard colors (typically red, yellow, blue and green). Definitely going straight into my permanent collection of kitchen guides!! (but sorry for the shoddy quality of the images- getting a better camera is still very much on my to-do list).

The feature also includes a recipe for white frosting, which is critical for achieving the exact color combinations depicted in the chart below, and the color can easily be altered (by vanilla extract, for example), so watch out for unintended colorants. Alternatively, you can use store-bought white icing, which tends to be whiter than homemade stuff, and there are instructions for coloring that variety on the same charts below.

For homemade icing: whisk together 4 large egg whites, 3/4 cup of sugar and a pinch of salt in a heatproof bowl. Set bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, making sure the water does not touch the bottom of the bowl. Heat until the mixture is warm and the sugar has dissolved, then remove from heat and allow to cool slightly. Using a electric hand mixer or a stand mixer (fitted with the whisk attachment), whisk the mixture until it forms soft peaks (about 10-15 minutes), then beat 2 sticks of softened unsalted butter, a few small pieces at a time. Keep beating until the mixture come together. This recipe yields enough icing to make 2 different icing batches of 1-cup each. If you want to do just one color, double the amount of coloring indicated below.

Happy icing!

In good health,

F

* Top image via Pinterest; color charts courtesy of Food Network Magazine, May 2012 issue.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Useless kitchen gadgets: a rant « daily amuse-bouche - April 26, 2012

  2. Pingback: Fruity cupcakes « daily amuse-bouche - June 20, 2012

Share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
