//
you're reading...
Entertaining, Holidays, Recipes

Perfect popovers

Last year for Thanksgiving I made Yorkshire puddings (also known as popovers in America), and they were PERFECT, so I thought I’d share the recipe in case any of you wanted to include it in your holiday repertoires. As the name suggests, Yorkshire puddings come from Yorkshire, England, and they are something of a classic accompaniment to pretty much any roast. Let me tell you, these things make the perfect little flaky, light, gravy-soaked pocket- possibly the best starchy side on turkey day in my opinion. Forget bread, you can have that any day!

It turns out the secret to perfect popovers is a very wet batter and a very hot oven. Yesterday I blogged about how to make life easier on Thanksgiving day by making some dishes in advance, but this is unfortunately not one of them- unless you’re ok with eating a soggy doughy blob with your turkey. Popovers are very delicate so make sure to bake them just before you sit down to eat so that they are served hot and fluffy as they are meant to be; ideally they should be the last thing to go into the oven before dinner. This recipe makes 6 medium popovers, but obviously feel free to scale up as needed.  However, instead of doubling the quantities of ingredients to make 12, for example, I would suggest making 2 separate batch of 6. I don’t know what it is- but I’ve found that making 6 at a time is somehow better than making one batch of 12. Baking is funny like that.

A peek at my perfect popovers from last year’s Thanksgiving. (and yes my oven glass way dirty from a full day’s cooking!)

You will need:

  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled, plus more for greasing pan
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cup milk, room temperature

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 230C/ 450F. Grease a 6-cup muffin pan with butter.

Sift flour and salt into a bowl to remove any clumps. Whisk eggs, butter, and milk until combined, then pour over flour and fold to combine. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups (they should be about 1/2 full) and bake for 15 minutes. Then lower oven temperature to 175C/ 350F and bake until golden brown, about 20 more minutes. Remove from the oven and unmold onto a rack cooling rack. Quickly puncture the sides with a toothpick to let steam escape so the popovers do not deflate, and serve right away.

In good health,
F

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Perfect popovers

  1. yorkshire puddings are by far my fav food :)

    Posted by brainofjack | November 11, 2012, 5:23 PM
  2. I haven’t tried these yet, but I remember when my mother made them she always put the muffin pan into the oven at really high heat before and let it get really hot before she poured the batter … I think she used some of the fat from the roast in the bottom of the cups too.

    Posted by sybaritica | November 11, 2012, 8:53 PM
    • Yes I’ve definitely heard that before! I’ve tried both options and this way seems to work just fine for me, so I’ve kept it simple. And YUM- I’m sure the pan drippings make them extra flavorful :)

      Posted by dailyamusebouche | November 12, 2012, 6:37 PM
      • I’m sure I also read somewhere that they used to get cooked underneath a roast on a spit so that it would drip its juices on top of them … Mind you, I also gather that Yorkshire pud was served before the meat course to fill you up. That seems believable but rather at odds with the notion that anyone who could afford a piece of meat big enough to spit-roast would need to worry about such economies :)

        Posted by sybaritica | November 12, 2012, 6:45 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving menu « daily amuse-bouche - November 12, 2012

Share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
